Win or Get An A+ Membership and Be There For Our A+ AMA Advice-a-Thon On March 9th

As of this upcoming Monday, we will have been alive and in the world for SIX ENTIRE YEARS! At this point, we’re super-good at reading and writing, and really brushing up on our arithmetic skills. We’ll be doing cool stuff all over the site on Monday, and we’d like to talk about one of them right this minute!

The #1 thing we want for our birthday is for you to join A+. So, we’ve put together a wildly ambitious Online Event, our first ever! It’s an Advice-A-Thon / Ask Us Anything Birthday Party, and we’re about to tell you ALL about it, but first we want you to know that we’ll be giving away SIX year-long Bronze A+ Memberships and SIX year-long Silver A+ Memberships on Monday morning, plus another year-long Bronze A+ Membership for every six new A+ sign-ups we get all Monday long! 

If you want to be entered in the drawing to win a Bronze A+ Membership, just comment on this post and tell us the best advice you’ve ever received. 

Check in with the announcement post on Monday morning to see who the winners are, and stay with it all day as more winners are announced!

If you’d like to toss another A+ Membership in the ring for a lucky reader, just buy a gift membership at the Autostraddle store and forward riese [at] autostraddle [dot] com your confirmation e-mail saying you’d like to gift it to a deserving ‘Straddler. The Monday post will be updated constantly with a count of how many A+ Members we have and how many memberships we’ve given away and will give away.

A+ Member Count As Of 10AM March 9th: 1,094

A+ Memberships To Give Away: 6 Bronze, 6 Silver

A+ Memberships Donated By Autostraddle Readers To Give Away: 2 Silver, 2 Bronze


 

A+ Birthday Party Details

Where: On the Internet! We’ll post a link here and on our Announcement Post as soon as the A+ post has gone live.

When: The Birthday Advice-a-Thon begins at 10 AM EST / 7 AM PST and goes until 2 AM EST / 11 PM PST.

What: You’ll ask questions in the comments and we’ll answer ’em. You can ask a specific question to a specific person or just throw your needs out there in general and see who swoops in to solve your problems and quell your fears! We’ve highlighted all our special guests below, and there’ll be a full schedule up on the Announcement Post and the A+ AMA post on Monday.

Why: Well, this was actually your idea! We had lots of A+ members suggest they’d love an AMA-style Advice-a-thon with us, and when A+ launched, it was suggested that we invest in live events like this to really make A+ special.  So that’s exactly what we’re doing!

Who: All A+ Members. You can be an A+ member for as little as $5 a month, so hop on it!


All-Day Ask-Us-Anything / Advice-a-Thon Advice-Givers

ajaAja, Femme Fashion Icon

2 PM – 5 PM PST / 5 PM – 8 PM EST

Expertise: Style, beauty, parenting, relationships, boundaries


 

stef-ali-airportAli Osworth, Geekery Editor, Autostraddle.com

8 AM – 10 AM PST / 11AM – 1PM EST

Expertise: Relationships, sex, technology and existing in an MFA program. Oh, and liquor!


a-loba-loca-newAna Bel (aka “La Loba Loca“), Community organizer, Artist, Researcher, Writer, Body-powered tattooist, Midwife student and Eco-feminista

3 PM – 5 PM PST / 6 PM – 8 PM EST

Expertise: Decolonial food, reclaiming abuelita knowledge,’cultural’ Spanish, reproductive justice, abortion support and companionship, re-wording body parts and situations to better support people through reproductive lives, conscious mooning, healthy and delicious food and drinks, herbs and their uses, eco-feminism, how to survive academic institutions as a Queer Brown person, how to not be a complete privileged asshole


beth-maidenBeth Maiden, Tarot Columnist, Autostraddle.com

11 AM – 2 PM PST / 2 PM – 5 PM EST

Expertise: Tarot, living in a tiny space, starting/running a just-you business


Brittani_NicholsBrittani Nichols, Comedy Editor & Dear Sour, Autostraddle.com

9 PM – 11 PM PST / 12 AM – 2 AM EST

Expertise: Writing, Comedy, Relationships and “Being Perpetually Sad.”


carolyn-yatesCarolyn Yates, NSFW Editor, Autostraddle.com

6 PM – 9 PM PST / 9 PM – 12 AM EST

Expertise: Relationships & Sex


danniellebioDannielle Owens-Reid, Co-Founder of Everyone is Gay

12 PM – 3 PM PST / 3 PM – 6 PM EST

Expertise: Relationships, cat care, andro / genderqueer shopping, healthy living, being vegan, how to use social media like not a dumbass


danielaDani Rodriguez Da Silva, Sexuality Educator

5PM – 8PM PST / 8 PM – 11 PM EST

Expertise: Queer sex(ual health), gender (de)construction, relationships, living queerly as a Latin@. I can also give some advice on how to have a healthy, happy dog while working full time and living alone.


djuan-2Djuan Trent, Motivational speaker, Activist and former Miss Kentucky

5 PM – 7PM PST / 8 PM – 10 PM EST

Expertise: Relationships, being single, Self-Esteem, Religion, Coming Out, Goal Setting and Achieving, Self-Awareness, Race Relations, Self Discovery and Identity.


gabby1Gabby Rivera, QPOC Speakeasy, Autostraddle.com

7 AM – 8 AM PST / 10 AM – 9 AM EST

Expertise: Interracial dating, boundaries, being muy romantic, dealing with a partner that has an addiction(s), sex w different body types


 

Ginger Hale, Sobriety Columnist, Autostraddle.com

8 PM – 9 PM PST / 5 PM – 6 PM EST


heatherHeather Hogan, Senior Editor, Autostraddle.com

7 AM – 7 PM PST / 10 AM – 10 PM EST (with a lunch break)

Expertise: Books, pop culture, depression, ad(h)d, christianity (general theology, reconciling faith with religious upbringing, super religious family), long-distance relationships (turned living-together relationship), women’s college basketball (I will fill out your march madness brackets), bicycle maintenance and repair, volunteering questions, animal questions (rescuing, training, etc.), and social media.


kaelynheadshot2014Kaelyn Rich, Contributing Editor, Autostraddle.com

7 AM – 10 AM PST / 10 AM – 1 PM EST

Expertise: Sex & sexuality, small animal care, grown up life shit (buying a house, finding a financial planner, leasing v. buying a car), “Should I go to law school?”, relationships, bisexual/pansexual/queer stuff, nonprofit career advice, IPV and sexual assault support, community organizing as hobby or career (coalition building, legislative advocacy, government relations, etc), leggings as pants affirmation, monolid makeup, veg food, clothes, and lifestyle, leadership & management, feminist careers, body positive / fat positive stuff including fatshion


kristin
Kristin Russo
, Co-Founder of Everyone is Gay

2 PM – 3 PM PST / 5 PM – 6 PM EST

Expertise: Relationships, cat care, healthy living, dealing with a vegan, planning a wedding, writing a book, hula hooping, lip syncing, how to use social media like not a dumbass


laneiaLaneia Jones, Executive Editor, Autostraddle.com

9 AM – 11 PM PST / 12 PM – 2 AM EST (with a lunch break)

Expertise: Parenting, being older than 30, feelings, 60s/70s classic rock, teen pregnancy, divorce, hippie bullshit, death


 

lauramandanasLaura Mandanas, Contributing Editor, Autostraddle.com

4 PM – 7 PM PST / 7PM – 10 PM EST

Expertise: Women in STEM, TV pop culture, mixed-race issues, martial arts, bisexuality


 

lizz-rubinLizz Rubin, Med Student & Former Autostraddle Fashion/Style Editor

4 PM – 6 PM PST / 7 PM – 9 PM EST

Expertise: Fashion, Sex and Health


 

lydia photoLydia Okello, Blogger & Fashion Editor, Autostraddle.com

7:15 PM – 9:15 PM PST / 10:15 PM – 12:15 AM EST

Expertise: Fashion, beginner gay things, friendship. Also being a minority in a largely conservative/predominantly white environment.


Mari Brighe, Contributing Editor, Autostraddle.commari_horizontal

4 PM – 6 PM PST / 7 PM – 9 PM EST

Expertise: Skincare, hair-care, makeup, and sex/dating for trans girls


via Jack Tar 207Mey Rude, Trans Editor, Autostraddle.com

11 AM – 1 PM & 3 PM – 4 PM PST / 2 PM – 4 PM & 6 PM – 7 PM EST

Expertise: Being fat, femme stuff (“especially low-budget femme), Trans issues, Geeky (“if anyone has questions about sci-fi movies or tv shows or comic books or superheroes or things of that nature, I can talk for days about that stuff”), being Queer & Christian (“specifically Catholic.”) Also: witch stuff (“but not wicca, I’m not wiccan. but I am more than just an aesthetic witch, like my witchcraft is tied into my Mexican La Virgen-based semi-Catholicism, sort of like what was in the Gloria background story of OITNB, but not nearly as hardcore.”)


malloryMallory Ortberg, Co-Founder, The Toast

8 PM – 11 PM PST / 11 PM – 2 AM EST

Expertise: Jobs, boundaries, jokes, being direct, coming from a religious background, cute ladies in sports


morganMorgan McCormick, Kinky Transy Poly Gamer Ginger Southerner

7 PM – 9 PM PST / 10 PM – 12 AM EST

Expertise: Being trans, poly, kinky, queer/trans/sex friendly video games and spaces.


 

Rachel_KincaidRachel Kincaid, Managing Editor, Autostraddle.com

7 AM – 8 PM PST / 10 AM – 11 PM EST (with a lunch break)

Expertise: Basic budgeting and financial literacy, intense skincare regimens, pursuing a career in creative writing, teaching at the college level, bisexuality and dating/general wellbeing as a bisexual, legumes of all kinds, The X-Files, getting married/having a wedding


 

Riese_BernardRiese Bernard, Editor-in-Chief / CEO, Autostraddle.com

11 AM – 11PM PST / 2 PM – 2 AM EST (with a lunch break)

Expertise: Relationships, sex & dating, DEATH, writing & reading, starting your own business, sex work, mental health (personal history as well as experiences as a partner and family member, whatever your little heart desires)


Tinkerbell, Autostraddle Mascottink

4 PM – 8 PM PST / 7 PM – 11 PM EST

Expertise: Having one eyeball bigger than the other, Uh Huh Her, pink outfits, being famous, Littlefoot, trysexuality


 

vikkiVikki Reich, Co-Founder of VillageQ

9 AM – 11 AM PST / 11 AM – 1 PM EST

Expertise: Relationships, kids, coming out stuff, life


 

yvonneYvonne Marquez, Senior Editor, Autostraddle.com

7 AM – 10 AM PST / 10 AM – 1PM EST

Expertise: Being gay and Latina, growing up and being gay in a border town / returning to that border town and still being gay, being in a long-term relationship, going through an extremely unpleasant break-up, working from home, taking care of a big dog, navigating white, radical spaces as a queer brown woman, being a chunky brown girl and giving no fucks about it (especially in yoga), talking about Texas forever!


 

So! If you want to win an A+ Membership, tell us in the comments the best advice anybody has ever given you!

To help us facilitate this contest as efficiently as possible, we ask to keep comments limited to “the best advice you’ve ever gotten.” 

Before you go! It takes funding to keep this publication by and for queer women and trans people of all genders running every day. And A+ members keep the majority of our site free for everyone. Still, 99.9% of our readers are not members. A+ membership starts at just $4/month. If you're able to, will you join A+ and keep Autostraddle here and working for everyone?

Riese is the 39-year-old Co-Founder and CEO of Autostraddle.com as well as an award-winning writer, blogger, fictionist, copywriter, video-maker and aspiring cyber-performance artist who grew up in Michigan, lost her mind in New York and then headed West. Her work has appeared in nine books including "The Bigger the Better The Tighter The Sweater: 21 Funny Women on Beauty, Body Image & Other Hazards Of Being Female," magazines including Marie Claire and Curve, and all over the web including Nylon, Queerty, Nerve, Bitch, Emily Books and Jezebel. She had a very popular personal blog once upon a time, and then she recapped The L Word, and then she had the idea to make this place, and now here we all are! In 2016, she was nominated for a GLAAD Award for Outstanding Digital Journalism. Follow her on twitter and instagram.

Riese has written 2879 articles for us.

133 Comments

  1. As a recovering people-pleaser, I always repeat to myself this advice I got from a friend: “it’s not your job to make everyone happy, you are not a clown”.

    Another piece of advice that I have to remind myself of often is not to worry about other people’s opinions of your life unless they’re genuinely happier than you.

Contribute to the conversation...

Yay! You've decided to leave a comment. That's fantastic. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated by the guidelines laid out in our comment policy. Let's have a personal and meaningful conversation and thanks for stopping by!